Capdiamont\’s Weblog


The Highbeamer, a LED electronics kit I designed
Sunday 30 Aug 2009, 08:23
Filed under: Electronics and Computers, Eureka, Humboldt
Highbeamer board

Highbeamer board

Highbeamer results

Highbeamer results

Some of the areas I like to spend my time is in electronics and computers. I’ve fancied myself as a manufacturer of sorts of products/electronic items. Nothing really major, but small things that major manufactures wouldn’t touch. The problem is it costs a lot. In order to reduce costs, you have to buy parts in lots of thousands. I don’t have the money to buy anything in lots of thousands, except resistors, and only because they would be a penny each.

So along comes Gadget Gangster, where all I have to do is design a project, the help file, add photos, and bill of materials. No more worrying about inventory, or handling money. I just have cost of material to design the project, and time spent.

My first project is a simple white LED light project. I love LED’s and wanted to have more of their light around the house. It was then I realized there was none of these projects on Gadget Gangster. I fretted a bit, on how I wanted to do it, then settled on two things I wanted. I wanted it to have a large DC voltage input, accomplished by using a voltage regulator. Input range is six to thirty volts, though more voltage, the more energy is wasted, and you will need to add a heat sink for those higher voltages. I wanted it to be easy to fix when an LED goes out. I did that by putting them in parallel. Thus when one goes out, they don’t all go out. I wanted it to be cheap. It bugs me to have new energy/money saving tech be so expensive.

Now it is a kit, so you will need a soldering iron, solder, and a DC power supply/battery.

The highbeamer kit is here has five LEDs that come with it, regular price of $15.00 /on sale now for $12.99, and expansion kit is here adds an additional five LEDs, regular price of $4.99/ on sale for $3.99. You can add three expansion kits to the basic kit, for a total of twenty LEDs.

The reasoning behind the expansion kit, is that I wanted people to be able to choose how much light they wanted, and how much they wanted to spend.

Highbeamer kit, shown with three expansion kits installed.

Highbeamer kit, shown with three expansion kits installed.

3 Comments

[…] View original here:  The Highbeamer, a LED electronics kit I designed « Capdiamont's Weblog […]

Pingback by The Highbeamer, a LED electronics kit I designed « Capdiamont's Weblog

The new space will be read.

Comment by electro

[…] more here:  The Highbeamer, a LED electronics kit I designed « Capdiamont's Weblog Tags: areas, but-small, Electronics, major-manufactures, really-major, the-areas, time, […]

Pingback by The Highbeamer, a LED electronics kit I designed « Capdiamont's Weblog | RARWarez Blog




Comments are closed.



