Capdiamont\’s Weblog


Merry Christmas
Thursday 25 Dec 2008, 10:23
Filed under: Uncategorized

Well it is nearly over, it seems you have to love pain to enjoy what it has become. The shopping you have to do, with tons of people to wade through, just so you don’t look like a schmuck, by not giving something. Never mind, you don’t have much money to begin with.

I think I rather enjoyed my Christmas of 2001, deployed to Uzbekistan. Presents were open around Thanksgiving, and I didn’t have to suffer the instant buy, buy, of advertising, nor the crowds. There was even a Christmas lights on top of the old Soviet plane bunkers, sleigh and all.

I married in to a family that likes to stuff presents inside multiple layers of boxes, each one wrapped, or separate parts of presents in different boxes, IE batteries in one, cable in another, etc.

Though, I’m just as guilty, I once did the same, except I also used layers of packing tape with the fibers in it, plus I soldered together a cage of copper wire. Last year I sprayed insulation foam inside the boxes. Neither was appreciated. Last year or maybe the year before I got her a music keyboard, and had to suffer with her learning it. I also gave her a USB to MIDI adapter, which we got Garage Band to receive MIDI, but won’t send back out.

2 Comments

Merry Christmas, Cap – even with it’s Bah! Humbug! moments, it is still a good thing. 🙂

Comment by Rose

No. I support the War on Christmas.

Comment by Fred Mangels




Comments are closed.



