Capdiamont\’s Weblog


Latest news on track clearing Samoa to Manila
Sunday 30 Mar 2008, 10:38
Filed under: Humboldt, NCRA, Railroad, THA

Things are going well with track clearing. I figure about another 1,400 feet and we will have the path from Samoa to the first crossing in Manila done, and opened up. We figure about a day or two to make it through.

There is about 1.23 miles to go from this 1st crossing in Manila to Sierra Pacific with a mix of heavy to light brush, and even short sections of clear track. Of that, I figure about 3,813 feet of that is heavy to unknown density of brush, and thus will be slow going. I figure about one to two days to get to the park from the 1st crossing.

With some volunteers unable to make it during our schedule, we have moved it to a every Saturday schedule at 9 AM.

Corner of Vance Ave, and New Navy Base Rd/Highway 255Looking SouthLooking South from Vista PointLooking South at speeder

Video here. I put it in a higher quality AVI. Please let me know what you think. It takes much longer to upload the video from home this way. I need to figure out a way to stabilize the video camera so it isn’t so bouncy, and protect it from shock. If I rest it on one of the speeder bars, the video camera has a recording error, and has to redo some of the files on it’s hard drive before it can continue recording.

1 Comment

Amazing work! I’ve been out there by the tracks and it is like a forest there in quite a few areas. Keep up the good work!

Comment by Joshua Woods




Comments are closed.



