Capdiamont\’s Weblog


Humboldt County Fair 2009
Sunday 23 Aug 2009, 05:56
Filed under: animals, chickens, Ferndale, Humboldt

Well it is another year about done for. I tried avoiding it much as possible. I have a employee badge, but don’t get paid. Instead I get dragged in to it, by virtue of my relatives being employees. One nice thing this year is the milk testers this year provided free wifi. That allowed me to continue my addiction to Farmtown on Facebook/general internet.

I just get grumpy with all the effort that needs to go in to it. This year the fair board wanted barn/building leaders to lower labor costs 10%, so some of the buildings were told to close at 7pm. Except some people complained about that, so Friday and Saturday nights were changed to close at 9pm. I will tell you it is much less stressful when you can close at 7pm. You just get tired out by the end of the fair.

Something you don’t think about is the fresh vinyl sheeting, gives off nasty fumes, that not only smell bad, but gives headaches.

No sex in the bathroom story this year, but did have a kid taken in for underage drinking. Worse yet his mother couldn’t remember his name. “I’ve had so many,” was her excuse. More horse people this year, made things more interesting. Looks like a good deal of them can’t read English, or don’t care. Despite many signs saying no washing horses in places, those places still get used to wash horses. The fun is the stuff that gets left behind, let alone keeping the horses away from children in case they get spooked. Stuff that gets left behind is water, resulting mud, bandages, and beer cans. Even better is the ones washing by the campground, mud and water goes well with tents. Make sure you strap everything down too, or lock it up. We have gotten pretty good at this, though this year we lost a wooden pallet. In years past, we have lost a picnic table, wheelbarrow, and sawdust shavings. Can’t remember anything else.

Once in a while you have kids who don’t take care of their animals very well. Lastly is the people who just have to stick he fingers in cages. Yesterday I had to get some people to quit gobbling at the turkeys. It stresses them out,and we want them to be treated humanely so they live long enough to be slaughtered.


5 Comments

It stresses them out,and we want them to be treated humanely so they live long enough to be slaughtered.

CapD irony??

Comment by Hank Sims

I am like Farmville, too.

Comment by Carol

I’m only a little in to Farmville. I’m mainly in to Farm Town. I think there is at least one more farm app on Facebook. Too much time. I’m bad enough as is.

Comment by capdiamont

Me irony? Never. You’ll be glad to know all the animals made it out of there safely. Though, I know two of the turkeys were only supposed to live, for only two days afterwords.

Comment by capdiamont

I know what you mean about the time. I think I will take up needlepoint.

Comment by Carol




Comments are closed.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

